Our friends Mitch and Holly came by to visit a couple of days ago.  They brought me a wonderful gift called a Dammit Doll.  It’s a small rag doll, about 12” tall.  On its chest is a note that says:

Whenever things don’t go so well, and you want to hit the wall and yell, here’s a little Dammit Doll that you can’t do without.  Just grasp it firmly by the legs and find a place to slam it.  And as you whack the stuffing out, yell “Dammit!  Dammit! Dammit!”

I think this is such a wonderful gift for so many reasons! It makes me laugh and it is rather therapeutic to whack it around.

But now there’s a sweet Richard story to go with the doll. Richard doesn’t know it’s a Dammit Doll.  He just knows his mama has a new doll. Yesterday I was feeling absolutely miserable, to the point that I ended up going to the Emergency Room. Richard could see how sick I was, and he knew he was supposed to stay out of my room.  But at some point he very quietly came into my room.  He put the doll in my hand and laid it on my chest so I was cuddling the doll.  Then he said, so quietly, “Mom, here’s your new doll to make you feel better.”

I just love it when his sweet, tender side shows.

Image